Main Nav

Exposed

Click this cover for a(n) eBook sample of Exposed.
Wish list ribbon
Exposed Sample

Exposed

In the dim light of the darkroom, I'm alone, but not for long.As white turns to gray, Kate is with me.The background of the dance studio blurred, so the focus is all on herlegs extended in a perfect...
In the dim light of the darkroom, I'm alone, but not for long.As white turns to gray, Kate is with me.The background of the dance studio blurred, so the focus is all on herlegs extended in a perfect...
Available formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive READ
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    0
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
    5.1
  • Lexile:
    860
  • Interest Level:
    UG
  • Reading Level:
    3 - 4


 
Description-
  • In the dim light of the darkroom, I'm alone, but not for long.
    As white turns to gray, Kate is with me.
    The background of the dance studio blurred, so the focus is all on her
    legs extended in a perfect soaring split.
    The straight line to my squiggle,
    my forever-best friend.


    Sixteen-year-old Liz is Photogirl--sharp, focused and confident in what she sees through her camera lens. Confident that she and Kate will be best friends forever.
    But everything changes in one blurry night. Suddenly, Kate is avoiding her, and people are looking the other way when she passes in the halls. As the aftershocks from a startling accusation rip through Liz's world, everything she thought she knew about photography, family, friendship and herself shifts out of focus. What happens when the picture you see no longer makes sense? What do you do when you may lose everything you love most? Told in stunning, searingly raw free verse, Exposed is Kimberly Marcus's gut-wrenching, riveting debut and will appeal to fans of Ellen Hopkins, Laurie Halse Anderson and Virginia Euwer Wolff.

    From the Hardcover edition.

 
Awards-
Excerpts-
  • From the book

    Darkroom Photography, First Period I am the first one here.

    Viewing negatives on the light table,
    I find one and itch
    to open the chamber
    that leads to the darkroom.

    Soon, others stroll in:
    Javier, the Hoopster.
    Nathan, the Nuisance.
    Brenda, star of The Brenda Show.

    The bell rings as Mrs. Pratt
    breezes through the door,
    clapping her hands
    to get everyone's attention.

    Everyone's attention,
    I should say,
    but mine.

    Because nobody needs to tell
    Elizabeth Grayson,
    Photogirl,
    to focus.

    Bringing to Light

    I slip the photo paper
    into the developing solution,
    sway it around with black plastic tongs
    and wait.

    The hum of air from the overhead vent,
    the swish of chemicals,
    and the sucking in of my breath
    are the only sounds shifting
    in the dim light of the darkroom.

    I'm alone
    but not for long.
    As white turns to gray,
    Kate is with me.
    The background of the dance studio blurred
    so the focus is all on her--
    legs extended in a perfect, soaring split.

    The straight line to my squiggle,
    my forever-best friend.

    In the Hallway, After Last Bell

    "Boo!"

    The word bursts from my mouth
    at the same moment my fingers poke
    into each side of her from behind,
    and Kate's books drop with a thud.

    She whips around in an attempt
    to elbow her attacker,
    but I'm prepared and jump back
    out of her way.

    "Liz!" she yelps , then laughs,
    waving her hands at my face,
    before we reach to re-gather her books
    around and between Friday's fleeing feet.

    "Just trying to keep you on your toes," I say,
    touching her shoulder until it relaxes,
    until she gives me a forgiving grin.

    "I'm on my toes enough," she says,
    and I can't help but smile
    at this pointed comeback
    from the Mistress of Modern Dance.

    "I developed a shot of you dancing today."

    Kate shakes her head.
    "I can't believe I let you take
    pictures of me sweating."

    But I tell her my begging paid off,
    that this shot is going in my portfolio.

    She zips her books
    into the safety of her backpack,
    scrunches her forehead,
    and says I may want to rethink that--
    that she would hate for her ugly self
    to be the reason I don't get into art school.

    I take in her perfect, china-doll complexion,
    look straight into her blue-green eyes,
    and tell her, "Art schools now require
    applicants to submit photos
    of the ugliest person they can find.
    So you don't have a thing
    to worry about."

    Friday Night at Salvatore's

    We're at our favorite cheesy pizza place:
    plastic-coated, red-checkered tablecloths,
    Leaning Tower painted on one wall,
    a vineyard, maybe Tuscany, on another.

    Sal, behind the counter,
    white mustache curled in handlebars,
    huge belly threatening to burst
    through his grease-splattered apron,
    singing along to piped-in Italian music.
    A walking cliché.

    Amanda piles on
    Parmesan cheese and hot-pepper flakes.
    Dee Dee blots off extra oil with her napkin.
    Kate uses a fork and knife
    to cut her slice into bite-sized pieces.

    By the time my three friends
    are finished preparing their meals,
    I'm ready for dessert.
    "What time should I come by tomorrow?"
    Kate asks as we leave.

    "I'm staying on the Vineyard
    for a few hours after work," I tell her.

    "How about seven?"

    "Sounds good," she says,
    closing...

About the Author-
  • KIMBERLY MARCUS lives with her husband and two children near the beach in Massachusetts, not far from the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. She is a clinical social worker specializing in the treatment of childhood and adolescent trauma. Exposed is her first novel. You can visit her on the Web at KimberlyMarcus.com.

Title Information+
  • Publisher
    Random House Children's Books
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive READ
    Release date:
  • Adobe EPUB eBook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Bookshelf to manage your titles.

×

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Bookshelf?

×

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are permitted to recommend at this time.

×

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

×
×

×

To recommend Exposed, complete the following information:

*indicates required information

(comma separates multiple email addresses, i.e. bob@aol.com, bob@hotmail.com)

Subject: Check out this downloadable title at the Greater Phoenix Digital Library


We respect your privacy. Any and all information collected at this site will be kept strictly confidential and will not be sold, reused, rented, loaned, or otherwise disclosed.

×
Recommend this title to the library to be added to the Digital Collection
Exposed
Exposed
Kimberly Marcus
×
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
Exposed
Exposed
Kimberly Marcus
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title now.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Clicking on the 'Buy It Now' link will cause you to leave the library download platform website. The content of the retail website is not controlled by the library. Please be aware that the website does not have the privacy policy as the library or its service providers.
×