This site uses cookies. Learn more about cookies.

Close cookie details

OverDrive would like to use cookies to store information on your computer to improve your user experience at our Website. One of the cookies we use is critical for certain aspects of the site to operate and has already been set. You may delete and block all cookies from this site, but this could affect certain features or services of the site. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, click here to see our Privacy Policy.

If you do not wish to continue, please click here to exit this site.

Hide notification

  Main Nav

Exposed

Cover of Exposed

Exposed

Borrow Borrow Borrow

In the dim light of the darkroom, I'm alone, but not for long.
As white turns to gray, Kate is with me.
The background of the dance studio blurred, so the focus is all on her
legs extended in a perfect soaring split.
The straight line to my squiggle,
my forever-best friend.


Sixteen-year-old Liz is Photogirl--sharp, focused and confident in what she sees through her camera lens. Confident that she and Kate will be best friends forever.
But everything changes in one blurry night. Suddenly, Kate is avoiding her, and people are looking the other way when she passes in the halls. As the aftershocks from a startling accusation rip through Liz's world, everything she thought she knew about photography, family, friendship and herself shifts out of focus. What happens when the picture you see no longer makes sense? What do you do when you may lose everything you love most? Told in stunning, searingly raw free verse, Exposed is Kimberly Marcus's gut-wrenching, riveting debut and will appeal to fans of Ellen Hopkins, Laurie Halse Anderson and Virginia Euwer Wolff.

From the Hardcover edition.

In the dim light of the darkroom, I'm alone, but not for long.
As white turns to gray, Kate is with me.
The background of the dance studio blurred, so the focus is all on her
legs extended in a perfect soaring split.
The straight line to my squiggle,
my forever-best friend.


Sixteen-year-old Liz is Photogirl--sharp, focused and confident in what she sees through her camera lens. Confident that she and Kate will be best friends forever.
But everything changes in one blurry night. Suddenly, Kate is avoiding her, and people are looking the other way when she passes in the halls. As the aftershocks from a startling accusation rip through Liz's world, everything she thought she knew about photography, family, friendship and herself shifts out of focus. What happens when the picture you see no longer makes sense? What do you do when you may lose everything you love most? Told in stunning, searingly raw free verse, Exposed is Kimberly Marcus's gut-wrenching, riveting debut and will appeal to fans of Ellen Hopkins, Laurie Halse Anderson and Virginia Euwer Wolff.

From the Hardcover edition.

Available formats-
  • Kindle Book
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1
Levels-
  • ATOS:
    5.1
  • Lexile:
    860
  • Interest Level:
    UG
  • Reading Level:
    3 - 4

Recommended for you


 
Awards-
Excerpts-
  • From the book

    Darkroom Photography, First Period I am the first one here.

    Viewing negatives on the light table,
    I find one and itch
    to open the chamber
    that leads to the darkroom.

    Soon, others stroll in:
    Javier, the Hoopster.
    Nathan, the Nuisance.
    Brenda, star of The Brenda Show.

    The bell rings as Mrs. Pratt
    breezes through the door,
    clapping her hands
    to get everyone's attention.

    Everyone's attention,
    I should say,
    but mine.

    Because nobody needs to tell
    Elizabeth Grayson,
    Photogirl,
    to focus.

    Bringing to Light

    I slip the photo paper
    into the developing solution,
    sway it around with black plastic tongs
    and wait.

    The hum of air from the overhead vent,
    the swish of chemicals,
    and the sucking in of my breath
    are the only sounds shifting
    in the dim light of the darkroom.

    I'm alone
    but not for long.
    As white turns to gray,
    Kate is with me.
    The background of the dance studio blurred
    so the focus is all on her--
    legs extended in a perfect, soaring split.

    The straight line to my squiggle,
    my forever-best friend.

    In the Hallway, After Last Bell

    "Boo!"

    The word bursts from my mouth
    at the same moment my fingers poke
    into each side of her from behind,
    and Kate's books drop with a thud.

    She whips around in an attempt
    to elbow her attacker,
    but I'm prepared and jump back
    out of her way.

    "Liz!" she yelps , then laughs,
    waving her hands at my face,
    before we reach to re-gather her books
    around and between Friday's fleeing feet.

    "Just trying to keep you on your toes," I say,
    touching her shoulder until it relaxes,
    until she gives me a forgiving grin.

    "I'm on my toes enough," she says,
    and I can't help but smile
    at this pointed comeback
    from the Mistress of Modern Dance.

    "I developed a shot of you dancing today."

    Kate shakes her head.
    "I can't believe I let you take
    pictures of me sweating."

    But I tell her my begging paid off,
    that this shot is going in my portfolio.

    She zips her books
    into the safety of her backpack,
    scrunches her forehead,
    and says I may want to rethink that--
    that she would hate for her ugly self
    to be the reason I don't get into art school.

    I take in her perfect, china-doll complexion,
    look straight into her blue-green eyes,
    and tell her, "Art schools now require
    applicants to submit photos
    of the ugliest person they can find.
    So you don't have a thing
    to worry about."

    Friday Night at Salvatore's

    We're at our favorite cheesy pizza place:
    plastic-coated, red-checkered tablecloths,
    Leaning Tower painted on one wall,
    a vineyard, maybe Tuscany, on another.

    Sal, behind the counter,
    white mustache curled in handlebars,
    huge belly threatening to burst
    through his grease-splattered apron,
    singing along to piped-in Italian music.
    A walking cliché.

    Amanda piles on
    Parmesan cheese and hot-pepper flakes.
    Dee Dee blots off extra oil with her napkin.
    Kate uses a fork and knife
    to cut her slice into bite-sized pieces.

    By the time my three friends
    are finished preparing their meals,
    I'm ready for dessert.
    "What time should I come by tomorrow?"
    Kate asks as we leave.

    "I'm staying on the Vineyard
    for a few hours after work," I tell her.

    "How about seven?"

    "Sounds good," she says,
    closing...

About the Author-
  • KIMBERLY MARCUS lives with her husband and two children near the beach in Massachusetts, not far from the ferry to Martha's Vineyard. She is a clinical social worker specializing in the treatment of childhood and adolescent trauma. Exposed is her first novel. You can visit her on the Web at KimberlyMarcus.com.

Title Information+
  • Publisher
    Random House Children's Books
  • Kindle Book
    Release date:
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:
Digital Rights Information+
  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

Status bar:

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Bookshelf to manage your titles.

×

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Bookshelf?

×

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are permitted to recommend at this time.

×

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend your library consider adding this title to the Digital Collection.

×

Enhanced Details

×
×

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

×

Permissions

×

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

×

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Bookshelf.

×

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

×

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Bookshelf.

×

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

×

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

×

×

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

×
Buy it now
and help our library WIN!
Exposed
Exposed
Kimberly Marcus
Choose a retail partner below to buy this title for yourself.
A portion of this purchase goes to support your library.
Clicking on the 'Buy It Now' link will cause you to leave the library download platform website. The content of the retail website is not controlled by the library. Please be aware that the website does not have the same privacy policy as the library or its service providers.
×
×

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

×
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

You will be prompted to sign into your library account on the next page.

If this is your first time selecting “Send to NOOK,” you will then be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel